The Overwatch World Cup Returns For 2017

It’s back! Overwatch World Cup 2017 has been announced by Blizzard!

How is it all going to go down this year? Well, there will be four phases for the World Cup:

  • Phase 1 – Announce (March)
  • Phase 2 – Voting (April)
  • Phase 3 – Group Stage (Summer)
  • Phase 4 – Playoffs (November)

Phase 1 starts off at this very moment. 32 countries will be chosen to be eligible for the tournament. These countries will be determined by the accumulated skill rating of the Top 100 in each country. So if you’re in the top 100 and want your country to participate, keep your skill rating high! This is a change from the 2016 World Cup where United States, Canada, Brazil, China, South Korea and Team ANZ (Australia and New Zealand) got through automatically.

Voting might be different this time around but if it is the same as last year, we will be able to vote for four players for our own respective nation’s team. Blizzard chooses the other two players to round out each team. These chosen players are the “most likely candidates” such as streamers or pros. One of Blizzard’s selections is designated as the captain of the country’s team. The captain could recommend two players to Blizzard for their team.

The finals will take place at BlizzCon 2017 where it will be a round of 8 single-elimination matches.

There is a timer on the Overwatch World Cup counting down the days of eligibility as well as the current top 50 countries. The timer ends Tuesday, April 25th at 8 a.m. Pacific Time.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s